A Year and A Day



Many Wiccans are polytheistic, meaning they worship in many gods and goddesses as part of their belief system.


A ‘pantheon’ is a set of gods and goddesses from a particular religion or mythology.  Popular pantheons include Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Norse, Celtic, Hindu, Japanese, and Native American.


Sometimes there is overlap between deities from different pantheons.  For example, Greek and Roman deities often overlap, however are given different names.  Celtic deities often overlap with Gaulish and Brittanic deities.


Some Wiccan groups insist that you work within a singular pantheon, however some groups find that working with deities from different pantheons is acceptable.  Most Wiccans agree that you should work with a group of deities that you feel particularly called to.  Whether you follow your ancestry or look elsewhere, your connection to the divine is deeply personal and subjective.  Listen to your intuition!


Below are some of the major pantheons used in Wicca and examples of some of the more popular deities.  This is by no means an exhaustive list – do you own research to find what speaks to you!







Cernunnos  – ‘The Horned One’. Ancient God of fertility, nature, and animals.

Dagda – ‘The Good God’.  God of protection, knowledge, warriors.

Danu – ‘Great Mother’, mother of the Tuatha Dé Danann. Goddess of the earth, rivers, wells.

Lugh – God of the sun, craftsmanship, and many other skills.

Brigid – Triple goddess; fire of inspiration (poetry), fire of the health (healing, fertility), fire of the forge (smithcraft).

Morrigan – ‘Great Queen’, ‘Phantom Queen’. Goddess of war, death, prophecy.







Odin – ‘All Father’, ruler of the Aesir. God of war, death, wisdom and magic.

Frigg – Goddess of marriage.  Wife of Odin.

Thor – God of thunder and lightning, strength and protection.  Son of Odin.

Baldur – Gentle, handsome son of Odin.

Freyja – Goddess of love, fertility, war, divination and magic.  Sister of Freyr.

Freyr – God of virility, fertility, and prosperity.  Brother of Freyja.

Loki – Trickster god and shape-shifter.

Hel – Goddess of the dead and underworld, ruler of the Land of Mist.  Daughter of Loki.







Ra – God of the sun.

Nut – Goddess of the night, sky and heaven.

Isis – ‘Divine Mother’.  Goddess of nature, magic, fertility, family and rebirth.

Thoth – God of the moon.

Osiris – God of vegetation and the otherworld.

Anubis – God of funerals, guardian of the dead.

Bast – Goddess of the sun, moon, lions, cats, fertility and war.

Hathor – Cow goddess of love and music, protector of women.

Horus – God of war and the sun.




Zeus/Jupiter – King of the gods, ruler of Mount Olympus. God of the sky and thunder.

Hera/Juno – Queen of the gods, the goddess of marriage and family.

Demeter/Ceres – Goddess of fertility, agriculture, nature, and the seasons.

Dionysus/Bacchus – God of wine, celebration, and ecstasy.

Apollo/Phoebus – God of light, knowledge, healing, music, the sun, youth and beauty.

Artemis/Diana – Goddess of the hunt, virginity, childbirth, the moon and all animals.

Athena/Minerva – Goddess of wisdom, defense and strategic warfare.

Aphrodite/Venus – Goddess of love, beauty, and desire.