Runic Divination

Lesson One: Elder Futhark Runic Symbols Explained

I would like to start off my welcoming everyone to this our new course on the study of runic divination. In each new lesson you will find innovative techniques that will help you to control the unbounded power of the Runes, innovative tools to aid in your progression. Throughout the next few months we will be learning the meanings of the 24 Elder Futhark runes, these runes are separated into three groups of eight, known as the aett or aettir (plural). This will aid you in remembering the order of the runes, and further on in the course you begin to see how the aettir are significant in the use of magick.

Lesson 1

The oldest know runic alphabet is known as the Elder Futhark, it takes its name from the sound of its first eight letters, i.e. F-U-TH-A-R-K. The three standard divisions of the Elder Futhark runes are known as the Aettir. There are a number of things to keep in mind. first of all, it the Elder Futhark alphabet lacks a number of letters from the modern-day alphabet, specifically c, q, v, x and y. Additionally, because The Futhark alphabet is based on sound, containing combinations of letters so thusly there us a Rune for the sound that is created when combining the letters T and H together, and one more for the sound created when combining the letters N and G.

Freyia’s Aett:

These 8 runes that belong to the god of fertility (Frey) and are runes connected to the creation of the world, its native-setter races as well as the gods. Runes in this aett have consequently start of things moving. Aswynn was quoted as saying “For the purpose of divination therefore the runes of this aett often express the basic principles of life – such as money, health, conflict, intelligence, control, knowledge, balance and pleasure”. The runes are read from left to right.

Fehu (F: Domestic cattle, wealth.) Possessions won or earned, earned income, luck. Abundance, financial strength in the present or near future. Sign of hope and plenty, success and happiness. Social success. Energy, foresight, fertility, creation/destruction (becoming). Fehu Reversed or Merkstave: Loss of personal property, esteem, or something that you put in effort to keep. It indicates some sort of failure. Greed, burnout, atrophy, discord. Cowardice, stupidity, dullness, poverty, slavery, bondage.

Uruz: (U: Auroch, a wild ox.) Physical strength and speed, untamed potential. A time of great energy and health. Freedom, energy, action, courage, strength, tenacity, understanding, wisdom. Sudden or unexpected changes (usually for the better). Sexual desire, masculine potency. The shaping of power and pattern, formulation of the self. Uruz Reversed or Merkstave: Weakness, obsession, misdirected force, domination by others. Sickness, inconsistency, ignorance. Lust, brutality, rashness, callousness, violence.

Thurisaz: (TH: Thorn or a Giant.) Reactive force, directed force of destruction and defense, conflict. Instinctual will, vital eroticism, regenerative catalyst. A tendency toward change. Catharsis, purging, cleansing fire. Male sexuality, fertilization. (Thorr, the Thunder god, was of Giant stock.)Thurisaz Reversed or Merkstave: Danger, defenselessness, compulsion, betrayal, dullness. Evil, malice, hatred, torment, spite, lies. A bad man or woman. Rape?

Ansuz: (A: The As, ancestral god, i.e. Odin.) A revealing message or insight, communication. Signals, inspiration, enthusiasm, speech, true vision, power of words and naming. Blessings, the taking of advice. Good health, harmony, truth, wisdom. Ansuz Reversed or Merkstave: Misunderstanding, delusion, manipulation by others, boredom. Vanity and grandiloquence. (Odin is a mighty, but duplicitous god. He always has his own agenda.)

Raidho: (R: Wagon or chariot.) Travel, both in physical terms and those of lifestyle direction. A journey, vacation, relocation, evolution, changes of place or setting. Seeing a larger perspective. Seeing the right move for you to make and deciding upon it. Personal rhythms, world rhythm, dance of life. Raidho Reversed or Merkstave: Crisis, rigidity, stasis, injustice, irrationality. Disruption, dislocation, demotion, delusion, possibly a death.

Kenaz: (K: Beacon or torch.) Vision, revelation, knowledge, creativity, inspiration, technical ability. Vital fire of life, harnessed power, fire of transformation and regeneration. Power to create your own reality, the power of light. Open to new strength, energy, and power now. Passion, sexual love. Kenaz Reversed or Merkstave: Disease, breakup, instability, lack of creativity. Nakedness, exposure, loss of illusion and false hope.

Gebo: (G: Gift.) Gifts, both in the sense of sacrifice and of generosity, indicating balance. All matters in relation to exchanges, including contracts, personal relationships and partnerships. Gebo Merkstave (Gebo cannot be reversed, but may lie in opposition): Greed, loneliness, dependence, over-sacrifice. Obligation, toll, privation, bribery.

Wunjo: (W or V: Joy.) Joy, comfort, pleasure. Fellowship, harmony, prosperity. Ecstasy, glory, spiritual reward, but also the possibility of going “over the top”. If restrained, the meaning is general success and recognition of worth. Wunjo Reversed or Merkstave: Stultification, sorrow, strife, alienation. Delirium, intoxication, possession by higher forces, impractical enthusiasm. Raging frenzy, berserker.

Comprehension Test

1. What are the three standard divisions of the runes known as?
2. How does the (Elder) Futhark get its name?
3. Who governs the section of the runes associated with forces beyond human influence and understanding?
4. Which modern letters does the Elder Futhark lack?

After taking the comprehension test copy and paste your answers to the questions into the comment section for grading. Upon completion of this course students will receive a certificate of completion of the Runic Divination course sent securely to your inbox.