A Moment for Meditation

The Chakras
The past few months, we have been talking about meditation, it’s benefits, the why’s, where-for’s and how-to’s.

In Kundalini Yoga, the yoga that I teach, we move toward systematically raising heat and energy through our bodies and up our spines through use of the chakras. The word “chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit and are the energy centers within your body. These chakras can be blocked by long-held stresses, tensions and other factors. Meditation is key in helping to release these blocks.
When working with the chakras, it is important to stay grounded and centered. To start always do a grounding exercise, such as the following:

**“Stand up, grip toes to the ground, long deep breathing, visualize your roots going deep into Mother Earth, keeping you grounded and centered. Inhale and bring the earth energy up to the base of your spine, exhale and let the energy return to the earth.” (**From my Three Hour Chakra Workshop)


If you have a grounding exercise that you prefer, then by all means, please do that one.
Over the next few weeks, I will discuss each chakra in detail, with meditation suggestions and ideas, but this month will be an overview of the main eight (most traditions will say seven, but within Kundalini, we count the aura as the eighth chakra).

Muladhara – Root Chakra – Support, Survival, Security

Svadisthana – Sacral Chakra – Sexuality, Sensuality, Emotions, Creativity

Manipura – Naval Center Chakra- Power, Will, Energyg

Anahata – Heart Chakra – Love, Compassion, Nurturing, Balance

Visuddha – Throat Chakra – Communication, Truth

Ajna – Third Eye/Brow Chakra – Intuition, Knowledge, Clarity

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra – Enlightenment, Unity


Aura – The Magnetic Field That Surrounds Your Body – Protection, Projection, Spiritual Love and Compassion

Until next month, I wish you love and happiness.

Namaste & Blessings